One bowl of this will just not be enough

I love a good bowl of chili. We have one recipe that we generally use because it is just plain tasty. But every once in a while I have a burning desire to branch out and try something new. I felt that way yesterday. So I scoured the internet for the new perfect chili recipe, and… I found it my friends. This recipe is absolutely phenomenal. I was moaning in pleasure with every bite. Clearly I was satisfied with myself. I however had no desire to make the amount the recipe called for, which could feed a small army… So I tweaked the amounts and a few other little things. I’m sure the original version is just as fantastic but I just loved how it turned out too much not to put my version somewhere. Enjoy!

Smoky Slow Cooker Chili

  • Servings: 8-10
  • Time: 4.5 hours
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

DSC01462.JPG

Ingredients:

  • 1 tsp. olive oil
  • 1/2 lb. lean ground beef
  • 1/2 lb. ground turkey
  • 1/2 sweet onion, peeled and diced
  • 2 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 1 chipotle chili in adobo sauce, chopped
  • 1 (15 oz.) can dark red kidney beans, rinsed and drained
  • 1 (15 z. ) can tomato sauce
  • 1 (14 oz.) can diced tomatoes
  • 1 (15 oz.) can great northern beans, rinsed and drained
  • 1 (4 oz.) can chopped green chiles
  • 1/4 c. beef broth
  • 1/4 c. gingerale
  • 1 T. chili powder
  • 1 1/2 tsp. ground cumin
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 tsp. sugar
  • 1/4 tsp. black pepper

Toppings

  • shredded cheddar cheese
  • crushed tortilla chips or strips
  • thinly-sliced green onions
  • sour cream

Directions:

  1. Heat oil in a large saute pan over medium-high heat. Add the ground beef, turkey, onion and garlic and cook for about 7-10 minutes or until the meat is completely browned, crumbling it with a spoon as it cooks. Drain about half of the excess fat. Then transfer the mixture into the bottom of a slow cooker.
  2. Add the remaining ingredients, and stir to combine. Cover and cook on low for 6-8 hours, or on high for 3-4 hours. Taste, and season with additional salt and pepper or seasonings if need be.
  3. Serve warm, with desired toppings.

adapted from: Give Me Some Oven

Leave a Reply

