I LOVE Chipotle. Anyone else with me on this?

Everytime we go to Chipotle I get a burrito bowl. I’m not one of those girls who always gets a salad. I usually order a hamburger or steak or something else delicious and filling. Unexpected for someone so tiny? Maybe. But I am content with my large appetite and lack of desire to appear dainty while eating. Now I would normally get a giant burrito or chimi or something when going to a restaurant like this… But while I was on my “fertility diet” I had to go off of a lot A LOT of foods. White flour and lots of oil included. Incidentally I discovered the burrito bowl. I have no desire to try anything else now. So when my mother sent along this little recipe I obviously couldn’t wait to try it. I may decide to tweak a few things later to suit my tastes… But this is definitely going to end up on my list of favorite recipes. YUM.

p.s. Once again this is a hand-me-down recipe and I’m not entirely sure of the source. However I’m sure there are several different versions to be found across the internet.

Chipotle Style Burrito Bowls

  • Servings: 4
  • Time: 1 hour 30 minutes
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

8a4ad57110c86e958b9daf55987c4922

*Cilantro Rice*

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup dry rice (this recipe calculated w/ white)
  • 1/2 diced jalapeno
  • 3 T chopped fresh cilantro
  • 1 bunch chopped green onion (about a 1/2 cup)
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 1/2 tsp salt

Directions

  1. Add 1 cup of water, 1/2 cup of rice, and salt to a sauce pan. Bring water to a boil. Throw in jalapeno cover and simmer for 20 minutes.
  2. Puree the cilantro, green onion and garlic together. When rice is  done, stir mixture into rice.

*Garlic Black Beans*

Ingredients

  • 1 can Black Beans, drained and rinsed
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 1 cup water
  • 2 bay leaves
  • 1/4 tsp salt

Directions

  1. Add beans, crushed garlic, salt, bay leaves, and water to a sauce pan. Bring to a boil, then simmer for 15 minutes. Stir occasionally.

*Guacamole*

Ingredients

  • 1 box grape tomatoes, quartered
  • 1 avocado diced
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 T lime juice

Directions

  1. Quarter grape tomatoes. Dice the avocado. Stir together with salt and lime juice.

*Chipotle Chicken Marinade*

Ingredients

  • 2 teaspoons dried chipotle powder or 2 teaspoons dried ancho chile powder
  • 2 teaspoons ground cumin
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried oregano
  • 4 garlic cloves, coarsely chopped
  • 1/4 cup red onion, coarsely chopped
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 3 tablespoons lime juice
  • 4  boneless skinless chicken breast halves (about 6 ounces each)

Directions

  1. Add all marinade ingredients together, except chicken, to a food processor and puree until smooth.
  2. Rub the marinade into the chicken and marinate at least one hour, up to 4 hours.
  3. Season the chicken with salt to taste. Grill the chicken for about 5 minutes per side or until cooked through. Slice into strips.

*Assembly*

In a bowl put 1/4 cup prepared rice, 1/3 cup beans (use a slotted spoon to drain liquid), 3 oz meat of choice (this chicken or something else if you prefer OR no meat!), 4 T your favorite prepared salsas, pico de gallo, and/or hot sauce, and 1/4 of avocado mix. Toss together and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

