I make it a general rule to avoid Kale…

I do not like kale. I have given it a try several times and it. is. disgusting. It is bitter and very overpowering. When I was trying to be all healthy back in the day I decided to try putting baby kale in my daily green morning shake. Most disgusting shake EVER. Okay… I very possibly, maybe have made worse shakes than this one… But it was seriously nasty. Needless to say I tossed most of it out. Surprisingly I did try more than one sip in the hopes that the more you eat, the better it tastes kinda thing might happen… Nope. Most certainly did NOT. I genuinely tried to enjoy this giant bag of baby kale we bought at Costco… I failed. I found absolutely nothing that could make this taste better… And then, and THEN I had this soup. There is no way KALE is in this soup right?? It is. And it’s tasty. In fact, you can’t taste it at all. Surprisingly that makes it an acceptable addition to your meal. So when my mom was here helping right after the baby was born I didn’t COMPLETELY freak out when I found her chopping up kale for dinner. She was making a salad with the stuff. A salad? With that as the ONLY green thing? NOT OKAY. But I trusted her. Because I had indeed now had kale in ONE form that was acceptable, maybe it was possible there was another out there somewhere… This is it! This is at least one other delicious way to eat kale. Maybe it’s because the peanuts and sugar overpower the nauseating flavors found in kale… Who knows. All I know is this actually tastes good. So I fully intend to make it myself someday. Maybe even tonight.

**unsure of source**

Kale Salad with Peanut Sauce

  • Servings: 2-3
  • Time: 10 minutes
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

DSCN2023

Ingredients

  • 1 head of Kale, chopped (spine discarded)
  • 1 sweet bell pepper, chopped
  • 2 carrots, shredded
  • 1/4 c. olive oil
  • 1/4 c. apple cider vinegar
  • 2 T water, plus more as needed
  • 1/4 c salted peanuts (2-3 T natural peanut butter)
  • 2 T brown sugar
  • pinch of Cayenne pepper
  • salt to taste

Directions

  1. Prepare vegetables and place in a large bowl, set aside.
  2. In a blender mix together oil, vinegar, water, peanuts (or peanut butter), sugar, salt, and Cayenne. Add more water to dressing if needed. Should be the consistency of a creamy dressing.
  3. Pour sauce over vegetables and coat thoroughly. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

