Anyone else miss out on the joy that is hummus for years?

I used to think hummus sounded absolutely disgusting… Because it was healthy. I had no idea what it was, I just knew that people who were healthy ate it, therefore it must be gross. So I never even tried it until a couple years ago. And now? I LOVE it. It is SO good. And there are so many delicious things that can be dipped in hummus. We enjoy cucumber, celery, bell peppers, and pita chips in particular. You can buy pita chips but they are especially delicious when they are homemade. I found a wonderful recipe here that I simply tweeked a bit. Although I can’t remember what I did in the slightest… Maybe someday I will! 🙂 Seriously, everything homemade tastes better. ESPECIALLY hummus. It really is so much tastier fresh. I don’t know why, it just is. I have experimented with different flavors and have found some really tasty hummus recipes. If you like chipotle peppers you should try this Smoky Chipotle Hummus recipe. It is super delicious, one of our favorites! But I think my absolute favorite is still just the classic hummus. Which is super easy to make. We have tried a bunch of different recipes but I always end up tweeking it until it tastes just right, nothing I have found is perfect, so let’s see if I can remember exactly what I did… This may be edited in future as I make it again.

Classic Hummus

  • Servings: 6
  • Time: 10 minutes
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

DSC00242

Ingredients:

  • 1 can chick peas, drained, rinsed, and *peeled
  • 1/3 cup Tahini
  • 2 Tbsp olive oil
  • 1 lemon, juiced
  • 1 clove garlic (I prefer **roasted)
  • 1-2 Tbsp. fresh parsley
  • sprinkle of crushed red pepper, optional
  • salt to taste
  • water, as needed

Directions:

  1. Peel the chick peas and place in food processor.
  2. Add rest of ingredients, except salt, to the food processor and blend until smooth and creamy. Add the salt in small increments until it suits your taste. Add more olive oil and/or water to thin out if desired. Add more seasoning’s as needed.

*To peel the chick peas simply pinch the chickpeas between your thumb and forefinger, with the pointy side facing your hand. Squeeze the chickpea and the skin should pop right off. Make sure you’re aiming the chick pea into a bowl or the blender so you don’t lose it :).

**To roast garlic, preheat the oven to 400 degrees. Cut about 1/4-inch from top of garlic to expose tops of cloves. Place garlic head on a sheet of foil and drizzle 1 1/2 tsp olive oil evenly over top of garlic. Wrap foil up around garlic and roast 35 – 45 minutes until golden brown. Remove from oven and allow to cool.

Leave a Reply

