Breakfast or snack you won’t be able to get enough of this healthy treat!

Last year Russell was asked to go on a week long business trip the month Emmett was to be born. I said “HECK NO” and thankfully they pushed it back a month. Not so thankfully I had a c-section and was still terrified of being home alone with the baby when he left. I was so distressed as we got closer to the day he would be abandoning me with a one month old while it still hurt to do many many things… But my dear sister-in-law whom I love so dearly and am incredibly grateful for gleefully offered to stay with me for the week. Oh my gosh. That girl saved my life. She is my hero. I love her so much. I literally took full advantage of her the entire time she was here. I had to. Emmett was still waking up every couple hours all night so I was dying not having Russ around to help out. But Corinn was incredible. I’m telling you. She made me every meal, every day. Stayed up late keeping an eye on Emmett so I could rest in peace for a couple hours. She changed diapers and clothes, helped give baths… I was so spoiled, I have to admit, having her leave and Russ return was really hard on me. Since Russ works and that left me doing everything on my own. He was just there to help at night… Which is wonderful, but not the same as having someone caring for your every need all day AND night when necessary.  But I survived, the baby survived, Russell survived. And now, he’s almost one. It’s incredible how every day can feel like an eternity but in the end the time just flies by.

There is a point to this story :). While Corinn was here waiting on me hand and foot she asked me if I would like her to make us some parfait’s. I was like “heck to the yes! I love parfait’s”. I’m picturing the pristine layers of yogurt, fruit, and granola like what you get at McDonald’s. Instead she hands me a cup full of thick, creamy, purplish I don’t know what with some granola sprinkled on top. She explains that she used to work at a smoothie shop and this is how they made parfait’s. They just blend everything together until you have a cup of creamy deliciousness… Seriously, this stuff is good. So she made these “parfait’s” almost daily while she was here. They are easy. They are delicious. They are awesome. So now I share what I like to do when I make my parfait’s now. Which Emmett happens to LOVE as well by the way. Snarfed it down this morning. We were supposed to share, I only got a few bites :(.

Simple Parfait

  • Servings: 1
  • Time: 5 minutes
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

DSC00197

Ingredients:

  • 1 c. plain greek yogurt
  • 1/4 tsp. vanilla
  • 1 tsp. sweetener of choice (my favorite is honey)
  • 1 c. frozen fruit (we love blueberry’s and almost anything! Mangos, strawberries, raspberries, etc…)
  • 1 tsp. granola

Directions:

  1. Place all ingredients except granola in blender (we use a magic bullet but any blender will work great). Blend until all ingredients are incorporated and parfait is a smooth consistency.
  2. Sprinkle granola on top and serve.

Leave a Reply

